Thoughts I Have

My Life In The Bush Of Gays


When I think about the division between Gay men and those who wish they didn’t exist my mind always turns to religion as the root of this bias. I’m not so sure that is the case. There is no way to determine scientifically how it came to be. So my opinion is as valid as anyone’s.

It has been said that “Everyone is gay”. That may be true and if it is then that may be the reason so many are against us. I have many straight relatives and friends who are completely comfortable with my sexuality and those who are like me. I’ve spoken with some of them about this and often times I’ve been told by them “I wish I were as brave as you” referring to my openness. One of my brothers who is a few years older and has always been very athletic, outdoorsy and good in a fist fight (lol) has always said he admired my courage. A friend from grade school who is married with children has said (privately) he envies my life. They and others seem to think I am better off in some way than they are.

This is puzzling because they have all the advantages society bestows on heterosexuals as far as acceptance is concerned. We are discriminated against, slandered by politicians and religious leaders, ridiculed by society in general and yet we are envied?

In recent years it has dawned on me – “Everyone is gay”. Those who lead the charge against us are simply deflecting suspicion away from themselves. I know you’ve heard this cliche before and it’s nothing new. My point is this: unless you have experienced the discrimination etc. first hand it’s hard to understand how pervasive it is. Those who are content to hide their desires and live the life expected of them will never know the freedom of revealing themselves.

Another group who compound this bias is women. I know that sounds misogynistic but that isn’t what I mean. Women have a vested interest in keeping men to themselves – their biological clocks force them to do it. Women are sometimes the worst with their ridicule. I’ve known some who are simply monsters. Men do not want to be seen as weak, effeminate creatures the way Gay men are stereotyped. They do not want to receive scorn from the women in their lives.

What women don’t understand is that their fathers, brothers, lovers, husbands – all men – have a gift. That gift is Love. Men have so much love to give they can’t be restricted to just one woman or even all women – they need to share their love with each other, too. It is this need to give and receive love that seperates us from women. I expect many who read this will disagree and possibly be angered by it. That is the bias I am talking about.

Gideon

4 responses

  1. There are probably a lot of reasons for homophobia but religion is often the most convenient excuse. If people admire gays I would think it would have more to do with the courage it takes to be yourself in a society that shuns you. I admire anybody who can step out of the closet because I have a friend from childhood who has never told anyone but his closest friends he is gay. He says his mother would disown him. Having to feel that way about even people you love must be unbearably horrible.

    August 16, 2010 at 5:47 am

  2. Rich

    You hit the nail on the proverbial head, Gideon.

    August 22, 2010 at 5:53 am

  3. GayMike1982

    “Women have a vested interest in keeping men to themselves – their biological clocks force them to do it. Women are sometimes the worst with their ridicule.
    ……..
    What women don’t understand is that their fathers, brothers, lovers, husbands – all men – have a gift. That gift is Love. Men have so much love to give they can’t be restricted to just one woman or even all women – they need to share their love with each other, too. It is this need to give and receive love that seperates us from women.”

    You mean that all or most men are BISEXUALS who desire both genders but all or most women are STRAIGHT AS AN ARROW and only desire the opposite gender???

    Bwahahahaha! What a ludicrous argument!!

    As a gay man, your point of view is kinda flattering but also very delusional and no doubt incorrect.

    So if men are what everyone truly covets then why are women so sexualized and objectified and treated like pieces of meat by the media? Why are female musicians expected to show so much skin? Why are the female leads in movies like ‘Transformers’ always models? Obviously this disproves you’re theory that men are the only desired gender.

    I went to college at a very liberal school and I can tell you that there are men who have ZERO sexual desire for their own gender (men) and women who have ZERO sexual desire for their opposite gender (men). Just like there are plenty of gay men, there are also plenty of straight men and lesbians who only desire women. And also plenty of bisexual women and men who desire both. Whatever you most identify with is your own personal choice.

    Also, this whole “females are ruled by their biological clock” bull sheet is outdated nonsense they still occasionally use for material on romantic comedies but it doesn’t really apply to the real world and leads me to think you don’t have many female friends. This strong desire for a husband and kids was perhaps true way back when women relied on a husband for income so it was in their best interest to get married and have kids just to have some sort of financial security. They literally needed this. But now that many women have careers and are enrolled in even higher numbers than males in college, marriage and children have become something of a burden for them and they put it off for longer and longer. This is why you are seeing so many women in their 40s and even early 50s having babies nowadays.

    I have a ton of female friends of all ages and the majority are OBSESSED with preventing pregnancy and with birth control. They talk about pregnancy like it was some kind of disease nobody wants to catch.

    Gideon, I think you are highly misinformed and confused about the real world you live in. And you’re probably somewhat of a self-observed narcissist.

    June 8, 2011 at 9:13 pm

  4. Thanks for reading my blog. Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment.

    Opinions are like assholes – everybody has one 😉

    You are entitled to your opinions the same as I am entitled to mine.

    I will not stoop to the level of labeling you as delusional or a self-observed narcissist as you did with me.

    That only serves to inflame discussions.

    You’re immaturity is showing

    I will say that you may be in for a rude awakening one day.

    I think you will find much of what I said to be enlightened in 30 years or so.

    June 10, 2011 at 3:44 am

Leave a Reply

