Thoughts I Have

Film Star Speaks Out About Gay Role


Jonny Payne
news.PinkPaper.com
Saturday, 4 December 2010
4 December 2010

Minimages.com
Film star Jim Carrey has spoken out about his portrayal of a gay man in the film I Love Phillip Morris, stating he did not hesitate to take on the role.

The star of The Truman Show, The Mask and Liar Liar, had no problem with acting out gay sex scenes in the film. He told the Chicago Tribune: “As soon as I read the script…it was a no-brainer for me that I had to do it. There were some people in my life that were saying: ‘You really want to do that? You really want to do that scene? I mean, honestly, that’s going to stick in people’s minds.’ And I said, ‘Exactly. I want to do things that stick in people’s minds.”

The film makes its long-awaited release this weekend in US cinemas, having previously found success at the Sundance Film Festival in 2009 and in European and UK cinemas, and it is being tipped for success at the Oscars.

Carrey plays Steven Russell a gay con man, who falls in love with Phillip Morris played by Ewan McGregor, when in jail. After Morris is released, Russell plots his own escape in a series of desperate attempts to live together freely.

“I think Steven Russell was a man who’s on a journey of love, trying to prove his own worth to himself and the world,” said Carrey. “He’s a rather obsessive character in his approach to things. What I loved about him was that he was relentless when it came to love. He would do anything to get what he needs. He’s broken out of prison several times.”

On the gay kissing scenes with Ewan McGregor, Carrey said: “I just looked at him like a person I love, a person I admire, a person I respect, and a person I needed to fulfill me and make me feel whole, basically.”

Upon its UK release earlier in the year, Carrey claimed in an interview with the Metro: “I don’t really care about the reaction, if there’s a negative reaction. I care about doing a story about amazing, fascinating people.”

PinkPaper.com reported earlier this year that the comedy-drama had its American release date postponed by a US court after a row erupted between producers and distributors.

Leave a Reply

